Posted in bookish rambles

Say What? Quotes I have loved dearly

Sometimes-you-read-a-book-so-special   I was sitting at work reading Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café, by Fannie Flagg ( I had just started it.).  There was a line- a character introduction that made me laugh so hard pop came out my nose.  I loved it!  Over the next day or two I went back to the highlighted spot to read it to two of my co workers.  And it hit me- this here, is magic.  A quote doesn’t have to be evocative or life changing in order to be important or worthy.  It has to take one out of oneself- bring us to laughter, thought, tears, curses… anything.  Make me feel!

Then and there I decided that I was going to write this page, with some of my favorite quotes.  As I have a terrible memory (which allows me to read one of my favorite books every year for eighteen years- or parts of it as is the case in some years-and never get bored.), they will be from what I have added to my reading log in the last year or two, and what  I am currently reading.  I want to hear from everyone else too- please comment with your favorites!

So, lets get started with one that made me laugh, the character intro from Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café:

  • “Now, you ask me the year somebody got married… who they married… or what the bride’s mother wore, and nine times out of ten I can tell you, but for the life of me, I cain’t tell you when it was I got to be so old.  It just sorta slipped up on me.  The first year I noticed it was June of this year, when I was in the hospital for my gallbladder, which they still have, or maybe they threw it out by now… who knows… I noticed what they had on my arm.  It was a white band that said: Mrs. Cleo Threadgoode… an eighty-six-year-old woman.  Imagine that!”

There was a small amount taken out of the quote, but this was what I loved.  I could just see Virginia (Ninny) Threadgoode sitting there, talking a mile a minute to Evelyn whom she had never met before.  Just an old woman with gray hair and too many memories- and that’s Ninny all over!  You jump into the story with her; intrigued, excited and oddly indulgent as often is with the very old or the very young.  I can’t imagine a better way to start a story such as this.  Obviously this was a quote that made me laugh.

  • “Listen, money will kill you, you know that.  Why, just today, a man came here and told be about his uncle, who had a good-paying job working up in Kentucky at the national mint, making money for the government, and everything was going fine until one day be pulled the wrong lever and was crushed to death by seven hundred pounds of dimes.” 
Idgie Threadgoode, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café.  I love this one for a couple reasons.  One, you get a pretty good grasp of bull-shitting Idgie in just a few lines.  She is the story teller and jokester.  There are other pieces to our Idgie, but I love this side.  Second, it reminds me of something my grandfather would say, all the while trying to keep a straight face.  He was born on April Fools day and sometimes I think he tried to live up to it.    This is a quote that made me laugh.
  • “…’Don’t ever argue with an idiot.  They’ll drag you down to their level and then beat you with their experience.’ The same applies to the way you should live your life.”

Grace, The readers of Broken Wheel Recommend, by Katarina Bivald.  This one, oddly got me to thinking.  I tried for a long time to live one way.  Be popular and more outgoing because it was how I was supposed to be.  Listening to others on how to live is a waste of energy and a headache.  I haven’t heard from any of the people that I followed around in years, and I missed a lot of family time.  We all want to fit in, but who exactly is leading us and will we like who we become?  Maybe I read to much into this one, but I loved it anyway.

  • “As sure as time, history is repeating itself, and as sure as man is man, history is the last place he’ll look for his lessons…”

Uncle Jack, Go Set a Watchman, by Harper Lee.  This quote made me think, and it saddened me.  I see many similarities with the LGBT communities’ struggles and those of the segregation of the south.  Or with how some treat Muslims in America with how the Japanese were treated after Pearl Harbor.  Always, we tell ourselves that that can’t happen again, we are too evolved.  Too good- those things would not be stood for!  And yet…. well, I will say no more.  I never wanted this blog to be about political reform.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

