Top Ten Tuesday: books that made me chuckle

people smiling and readingTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the bookish. This week the theme is one I love dearly. I adore books that make me laugh, and have read a great many that were fantastic. Here’s my list:

  1. 1.Don’t Lick the Minivan: and other things I never thought I would say to my kids, Leanne Shirtliffe Link to buy from Amazon. Okay, I read this book last year and loved it so much. It has been one of those things that I read parts of again and again because they are hilarious.
  2. Shit My Dad Says, by Justin Halpern Link to buy from Amazon. What can I say? I found this one hilarious too. No, I don’t have kids… these scenarios just tickle me. Besides, this man basically made a killing just by listening to (and writing down) everything his dad told him. I took that as a sign that we should always listen to our parents and bought the book for my father for Father’s Day two years ago. (That and a fishing lure called the Shiny Hiney- seriously who doesn’t want to be able to say they have a shiny hiney?)
  3. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café, Fannie Flagg.  While I am sure everyone is tired of me talking about this book, I just finished it and I laughed through the whole thing.  It was great.
  4. One for the Money, Janet Evanovich.  Or, really, the whole Stephanie Plum series.  The cast of characters from accident prone and hopeless Stephanie to x-hoe Lula and Grandma… well, it’s just classic.  Kind of I love Lucy meets Dog the Bounty Hunter.
  5. Faking It, Leah Marie Brown.  Vivia’s life blows up when her perfect fiancé realizes she is not a virgin, as she has professed.  Goodbye fiancé, goodbye dream job… hello honeymoon (hey, it was paid for…).  Two weeks of cycling the French countryside with her best friend and Luc, the gorgeous guide.  Sadly she isn’t good at biking (it was the fiancé’s idea), or languages.  Will she fib her way through this as she does everything else, or let someone accept her as she is?  In my opinion, this was such a screwball comedy.  How can you not love it?
  6. Bill the Vampire, Rick Gualtieri.  Computer Nerd accidently gets made one of the undead.  With a lot of swearing and even more jokes, he learns how to survive.  The entire series is a laugh.
  7. Storm Front, Jim Butcher.  Harry Dresden is a wizard, and a private investigator.  With a colorful cast of characters we go about the chaos that is his life.  This is the first book in the series, but I would put the whole series here.  It was fantastic, and should Mr. Butcher ever decide to publish the book that was due to come out December 2014 (I think), I know it will be great.  So while I am very upset about the next book taking so long, I would still offer this series up to anyone.
  8. I See You Made an Effort: Compliments, Indignities, and Survival Stories from the Edge of 50, Annabelle Gurwitch.  I think the name says it all.  Written in chapters that read like short stories this book was great.  I loved it.
  9. F U Haiku, Beth Quinlan.  Okay, This one cannot be taken seriously at all.  200 rants in the form of haiku.  It was glorious! An example:

You puked all

over

My Keyboard.  I

told the boss

You drank all

her gin.

10.The Naked Duke, Sally Mackenzie.  This is a regency romance that I adored.  I laughed so hard  I cried.  The whole series is absolutely epic.  Through an outlandish turn of events Sarah ends up traveling alone to her uncle’s house.  She stops at an inn along the way and nearly gets turned away as the landlord thinks she’s a whore.  When she is offered a room by another traveler, she doesn’t question it.  Next thing she knows she wakes up with a naked man in her bed and all his friends laughing.  I read the whole series years ago but I loved it.

    Well, this turned out longer than anticipated!  I enjoyed it though.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: books that made me chuckle

Leave a Reply

