Posted in in other news, Uncategorized

What’s New Wednesday! Week one

may4r2d2May the Fourth be with you!  So, in an earlier post I was talking about odd and interesting things I read in the news.  I want to re-open this as a weekly event.  As before, I would welcome comments about the stories,  or stories that you find.  The ground rules still apply, nothing political- there’s enough of that on Facebook- and no hate speech please.  This includes bullying, discriminatory or inflammable stories and the like.

And here we go:

  1. This didn’t make any newspapers I have found, but let’s start with celebrating Star Wars Day.  While I am not a huge fan myself, I respect anyone’s choice to dress up and/or have fun- especially since these celebrations usually don’t include public drunkenness.  My friend is part of a group that dress up and do things in the community, which I think is neat.  Also, how often do you get to say that you started your day chasing down a Mandalorian (thought he was a Storm Trooper, shows what I know.)?  Got a selfie with him before work!  Lol I take terrible selfies.
  2. In Hattiesburg, Mississippi the Mississippi Power Co. and Silicon ranch are coming together to build a 50 megawatt solar farm.  They are expecting this to generate enough electricity to power roughly 6,500 homes.  While the enterprise will be extremely costly ($100 million), I am interested to see how it goes there.  This could be a real turning point in regards to how we think about generating electricity for cities.  Read story here
  3. Google CEO Sundar Pichai has been quoted as saying: “looking to the future, the next big step will be for the very concept of the ‘device’ to fade away”.  What does this mean?  Overtime he sees all computers, phones, apple watches and what-have-you to be replaced by an “intelligent assistant helping you through your day”.  (Personally when I think of an AI helper I see a cross between Baymax  and C3PO.) Facebook, Microsoft and Amazon all have their hats in the ring here to see who can create our very special helpmates.  I can see where this is going, and I for one welcome our robot overlords- just kidding.  I am curious as to what shape this will take, though.  No doubt this is far off in the future. Read story here.

That’s all the news I found over this last week.  What’s new with you?

-Amber

IMG_20160504_082244

Leave a Reply

