Posted in bookish rambles, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday2The top ten Tuesday meme is hosted by the broke and the bookish.  This week their topic is books I have changed my opinion on over time (love it more, less…).  I honestly don’t have ten books like that unless I list each book in a series (how dull).  What I want to do is start with the books in which my feelings changed, and then continue with books I want to read again to see if I feel the same.

  1. Twilight: I read this series when it first came out and thought it was really good.  I enjoyed it, and had my favorite characters (Jacob and Alice).  Once all the hype began, though, and then those movies… it ruined the magic of the books for me.  I just cannot like the franchise anymore- I even tried re-reading the books… meh.  I mean, I wasn’t an uber-fan to begin with, but I enjoyed them.
  2. Alice in Wonderland:  We all read this one as a kid, and, honestly, it bored me to tears.  I re-read it a few years back, and really liked it.  It was just a really fun read as an adult.
  3. The Mists of Avalon:  I read this book the first time when I was… fourteen I think.  I loved it.  There was so much drama and magic and it was just awesome! As an adult, I am not as interested.  It might be different if I forced myself down to read the whole series again… but fantasy is rarely my thing anymore.
  4. Enoch Arden: I know this is a poem… but as it is ten pages long I am counting it.  I had a teacher in my creative writing group from when I was in high school.  Every week after the meeting, we would go to the café in Barnes and Nobles and go over this poem.  I don’t know why, but I adored Professor Kim so we went with it.  Breaking it down again and again,  I always found new ideas and emotions.  I still love to go through it, so I suppose this is one I love more over time.
  5. Wuthering Heights: I read this when I was a young teen, and I liked it.  I reread it later, and I loved it!  There was so much that slipped by my younger self, and I am so glad I read it again.
  6. Goosebumps:  When I was in the third and fourth grade I really liked R.L Stine.  I found the Goosebumps series to be just the bees knees and had so much fun reading them.  When they got back into popularity I read one of my old ones for old times sake.  Meh.  I wasn’t thrilled by the writing, the plots were good but not great.  The older me just doesn’t love them anymore.
  7. The Borrowers:  I read these books so long ago I can’t even remember.  I was intrigued by the premise, but the writing style left me bored.  After The Secret Life of Arrietty, I had to try again and I loved them.  This is definitely one that I loved more over time.
  8. Of Mice and Men: this is one I want to read again to see if I feel differently about it now.  I think I read it freshman year of high school, and, being a brat that hated being told what to read, I probably didn’t give it the attention it deserved.  I think I would like it now.
  9. Romeo and Juliet: Now I have often felt like this is one we should all read when we are young and impressionable, and then again in our thirties or forties to see if our feelings change.  It is on my list.
  10. The Giver:  I read this book ages ago, and had been luke warm towards it.  The premise was good, the writing was good… it was… good.  Nothing more.  When the movie came out I decided I had to read it again before seeing the film.  I loved it, it really drew me in this time.

So there we have it.  Thanks for reading!

Amber

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

