My Sister’s Secret, Tracy Buchanan

My Sister's Secretspolier alertTitle:  My Sister’s Secret

Author: Tracy Buchanan

Pages: 400

Genre: Mystery

Publish date: August 13, 2015

Part of a series? No

I would like to begin by thanking Netgalley and Bookouture for giving me a chance to read and review My Sister’s Secret, by Tracy Buchanan.  Having been out nearly a year, I am surprised and vaguely shocked that I hadn’t heard of it sooner.   I lost myself to this book- nights ran long, dinners nearly burned.  I loved it, though my husband probably did not.

I am still not sure exactly what called to me about this book, only that it wrapped me up.  There was so much depth and pain, so many layers to the story.  I loved unraveling each piece with Charity and Willow respectively.

Three sisters lived in Busby by the sea.  Faith, Charity and Hope, each unique and beautiful in their own ways.  When Faith comes home from University, everyone can see that she is distracted, maybe depressed.  Her parents say it’s just the studying.  But could Faith be carrying a secret?  When tragedy strikes the family, it falls apart.  Faith is gone and Charity and Hope don’t know what to do.  Hope blames the boy that was part of her sister’s accident-Nial, Charity’s boyfriend and the girls’ childhood friend.  All her life from then on Hope blames Nial, hating him and wanting her family to have nothing to do with him.  But what if things weren’t so cut and dried?  What if there were secrets Hope doesn’t know?

This book is filled with mystery and deception, pain and love.  All these wondrous feeling swirling around in a fast paced mystery!  Her writing style reminded me a bit of early Lisa Unger books, like the Riley Jensen books.  It is quick, sharp, and easy to get lost in; and yet you never feel like things are moving too fast.

    What I liked about the book:

  • I loved Willow from the start, though at times I nearly forgot why.  She was damaged, but bright and determined.  Strong.  I admired all of that.  At the same time she was stubborn, living far too much in the past to see her future.  I think the fact that she had these flaws, and that I got to see her grow, made her a better rounded and more relatable character.
  • The sub plots and mystery- no I won’t give them all away!  But there were many and varied, hidden facets of a gem.
  • The story of the underwater forests, that it was the girl’s dream and then Willow going on those trips.  Finding out that Nial had done the same, and the etchings… those moments were magical to me.

What I didn’t like about the book:

  • Hope was a hard sell for me.  She seemed very one note for most of the book, only relenting at the end.  Yes, she gave up much of her life and dreams for her family.  It’s just… she seemed so bitter.  Constantly.  And evasive.  I understand talking would have been hard for her, but she is an adult and Willow needed answers.  I don’t know, maybe I am being harsh.  I did like that you saw some softening in the end.
  • Lana’s final return.  Did we really need to bring her back?  I didn’t like her, and surely there was a better way to let certain truths come out?  I will say it was effective, though.

All said, this is still a five star book for me.  Go check it out!Five Stars

On the adult content scale, I have to give it a five.  Much of it was tastefully done, but there is still a lot of sexual content, drinking and language.  Besides that, the deceit and revenge, all the different ways of hurting one another…. I would say these are very adult concepts.

adult content road sign

Link to book

Amazon Kindle

One thought on “My Sister’s Secret, Tracy Buchanan

Leave a Reply

