Posted in bookish rambles

Help me!

marvel-comic-book-covers-mural-2  Once upon a time, I didn’t care what anyone else thought of my reading habits.  I was oh… thirteen?  There wasn’t a big book store in our area and the easiest thing to get a hold of was comics.  I loved them!  I adored the x-men especially.  Beast, Gambit, Nightcrawler, Rogue.  I also read new mutants and wanted to branch out but was already stymied.  It only got worse when I moved and got new friends where comics… well unless they were undead it just wasn’t okay to read.  I set them aside, and now twenty years later I miss them terribly.

My biggest issue is how to go about catching up, as it were.  You see, I like to know the full story, and really how does one do that with comics that have been printing forever unless you are a millionaire?  Yes, you find synapses on line, and there are some sites that allow for certain comics to be read for a monthly subscription… though there seem to be a whole lot of holes there.

Am I going about this wrong?  Comics are different than normal books and the same rules may not apply…. I jokingly told my husband that x-men was my superhero soap opera.  It isn’t too far off base though, is it?  Plus there are so many different arcs… where do you even begin?  And if you also want to get into more comics like The Avengers, Bat Man, and Deadpool?  How do you choose without breaking the bank?  I have bought a few e-comics on the Kindle app- my tablet works better for it thanks to the larger screen.  I miss paper, but realistically if I want the “full story” e-comics are the only way.  Any suggestions on how to proceed?  Are the on line subscription the best bet, or just try to piece the story together from different reviews/ fan sites?  You know, get caught up.  And before anyone asks, yes the new movies have had a lot to do with my rekindled interest in the comics.  I know that may be a bit lame… I just remember so much about what I loved about each character.  Anyway,  ideas?  Lol it’s hopeless isn’t it?

Amber

2 thoughts on “Help me!

  1. I’m very fortunate to live in an area where I can get the comics from my library! They have a wide selection of both paper copies and ones for my ereader. Have you check your local library lately?

    Like

Leave a Reply

