Posted in Book Reviews

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Jenny Han

To All the Boys I have loved beforespolier alertTitle: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Pages: 288

Genre: YA romance

Part of a Series? Yes, book #1.

Published: 04/15/2014

Lara Jean is one of the three song girls.  As the middle child, she is used to relying on her older sister to organize things and keep the peace at home.  She helps as she can, but there are a lot of areas in her life that Margot took care of.  Driving, groceries, cooking, and their little sister Kitty’s schedule.  Ever since their mother passed Margot has tried to hold the reigns.  Their father is awesome, but he is a doctor and thus works long hours.

When Margot breaks up with her boyfriend and goes to school in Scotland, Lara Jean’s world spirals.  Suddenly there are way more responsibilities; and there is no one to cushion her relationship with Kitty whom she loves but doesn’t always get along with.  Add to that, Margot’s ex, Josh, is still their next door neighbor, good friend and Lara Jean’s first real crush.  When Margot had started dating Josh, Lara Jean promised to forget her romantic feelings and wrote Josh a letter.  It was never supposed to be mailed, just a way for her to releave herself of her feelings so she can move on.  There are four more letters, all do different boys, that she keeps in a hat box under her bed.  One day, the box is gone and the worst has happened.  The letters were delivered!  Now Josh knows!  Granted, so does nearly every other boy she has ever loved….. (one moved).  How can she salvage all this and keep everything together?

This book has been on my radar since it came out in 2014, but I was on the fence about it.  The premise of a girls’ letters letting go of love being sent out years later is a bit of a stretch, I was afraid it would be just a bit too juvenile for my tastes.  I was wrong!  While some of it is a bit juvenile, it reads like a well done YA novel.  The premise is interesting and I liked most of the characters.  I had a hard time liking Chris, and often Margot.  She veered from being domineering and overprotective, to being oblivious to the feelings of others.  The two different pieces of her personality made her seem unstable…  That said, I really enjoyed the book and have started the sequel.  ( I bought it on my last break so that I couldn’t talk myself out of it!)  Four Stars

The book is out now, go get it!

On the adult content scale, it barely rates a one.  There is talk about drinking, and sexual content… but it’s very tame and done well.  I would let my friends kids read it without a problem.General.svg

Link to Book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber

 

Leave a Reply

