Posted in Book Reviews

A Man of Character, Margaret Locke

A Man of Characterspolier alertTitle: A Man of Character

Author: Margaret Locke

Pages: 334

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Part of a Series?  Yes, book one of Matters of Love

Published:  May 26th, 2015

 

Cat is thirty five years old and owns her father’s old bookshop which she mans with her best friend Eliza.  For six years, she has shelved the idea of love- it just isn’t for her, and really who has the time?  All of that changes though, when her mother mails a box of old things to Cat.  Some are just old stories she had written, but one was a gorgeous manuscript written in Latin.  This has apparently been in the family forever and has the ability to allow a certain user to create love interests.  Crazy right?  And yet…

Men are coming out of the woodwork and everyone has their eye on Cat!  Each, also, mirrors the lead male in a story she had written.  There’s the popular jock who can’t let high school go, the sexy grad student and the rich and caring Mr. Perfect.  At the same time, there’s Ben Cooper whom she never would have come up with.  A computer science professor and fixer-of-internet , he is always there to help.  She is attracted to him, but thinks he is seeing someone.  Besides, what does she do with the other three?

When Cat finally takes time to look deep and decide who she needs beside her, will she have the courage to go for it?  Especially since, thanks to an extra special Christmas gift to Eliza, she finds herself alone.

Okay, mostly, I loved this book.  I could be upset that love interest #1 and #2 seem very one note, but I believe they were meant to.  I mean, they were created that way!  The characters were amazing (other than #1 and #2).  I loved the play between Cat and Eliza, and I really loved Ben.  The premise of the story is unique to me, I don’t think I have ever read anything quite like this.  Also, it set us up nicely for Eliza’s book (book #2- A Matter of Time).  I can’t wait to read that one!  Four Stars

On the adult content scale, I give it a four.  There are some pretty frank sex scenes, but nothing too bad.  mature audience.

The book is out now, I highly recommend it!

Link to Book:

Amazon Kindle

 

3 thoughts on “A Man of Character, Margaret Locke

  1. Wow, Sara, thank you very much for not only reading A Man of Character, but for taking the time to write a review and share it with your readers. ❤ I really appreciate that! I'm glad you liked the story! (And, yes, some of the one-notedness was intentional – though I don't claim to be a perfect writer by a long shot.) I do hope you love A Matter of Time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

