Posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Unlocking Worlds, Sally Allen

Unlocking WorldsTitle: Unlocking Worlds, a reading companion for book Lovers

Author: Sally Allen

Pages: 246

Genre: nonfiction (on fiction, how odd is that!), reviews and anecdotes.

Part of a Series: no.

Published: September 2nd, 2016

I received a review copy of this book from Netgalley and Griffins Wharf.  Immediately upon seeing the cover of this book I was spellbound.  Sally Allen has not only defined in beautiful and easy to understand language our love affair with the written word (something I have always struggled with), but with sweet and humorous anecdotes she opens herself up.   These are the reasons she loves books, what she loves, what makes a good book.  She does state again and again that all of this is for her, not everyone and yet I found her words resonating within me.  I had found a literary soul mate.

Through the chapters that start with an interesting picture and quote, she goes through different genres of books and gives summaries/ mini reviews for each.  Out of curiosity, I highlighted each book she discussed and have seven pages of books.  Not all of them appeal to me, but for me that wasn’t the point.  I was pleased to see this book through Allen’s eyes.  I do have at least a dozen books added to the TBR pile, of course. 

The only thing I found fault with has most likely changed in the finished book.  The eBook pagination was off so that words would randomly appear or disappear.  Titles of books were forgotten several times.  Little things like that took me out of the moment, but again this has no doubt been fixed.  I will be buying this book, as I loved it.  I just can’t do it right now.  Still, flaws with my copy and all this is a five star book that I recommend to any bibliophile.  Five Stars

As Far as the Adult Content Scale goes, there really wasn’t anything to speak of.   A one.

The book is out- go get it!

Link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber

 

 

 

One thought on “Unlocking Worlds, Sally Allen

Leave a Reply

