Posted in bookish rambles, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday! Books that have been on my TBR LIST FOR WAY TOO LONG.

toptentuesday2Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.  I don’t often do these, but this one spoke to me.   As you no doubt know by now, I have an addiction to books.  I love them.  I see a book, I have to self control.  I have to own it.  When I have book money I go out of my mind, which is why I don’t want my debit card on file with on line book stores.  Luckily, Amazon allows me to shop via gift cards and I can monitor my spending well that way.  Sadly, (happily) I still have a large eBook library that I have worked on for eight years consisting of over one thousand books and a TBR list in the triple digits.  Without further ado, I invite you to share in my madness- these are “Have to have it or I will LITERALLY die” books that have been on my TBR list for over a year.

1.Jane AustenJane Austen, the complete collection, Jane Austin.  I always promise myself that I will read this.  It was my first purchase for eBook, I started it… I got distracted.  It isn’t that I don’t want to read it, there are just so many interesting books in the world!

 

2.A white wind blew A White Wind Blew, James Markert.  This book got a lot of press in 2013.  Everyone talked about how marvelous it was- I had to have it.  The premise of a doctor in the Waverly Tuberculosis Sanctum trying to ease his patients with music.  It sounds sad and beautiful… and I will get to it, promise!

 

Miss Buncle3. Miss Buncle’s Book, D. E. Stevenson.  Broke and fairly desperate, Barbara Buncle needs to make money.  Maybe she could write a book, but what about?  Taking inspiration from her neighbors, she writes about a little town.  But when things that happen in the book happen for real things get tricky.  This book just sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it.  Of course, I often forget about it with all the others…

committed4. Committed, Elizabeth Gilbert.  I inhaled Eat, Pray, Love.  I adored it, like so many others, for it’s honesty and imagery.  I bought up Committed before I even finished the book thinking that I had to read it.  And then I got busy and forgot about it, so it is one of my TBR books.

 

dreaming in English5. Dreaming in English, Laura Fitzgerald.  This is one that the cover swept me away.  The premise, an Iranian woman going to America on her mother’s urging to “wake up her luck”.  There she meets and marries her true love, but not everyone is happy and nothing good is ever easy.  With an interview with Immigration looming, does she have what it takes to win her American Dream?  Geeze, I need to read this one.

cleaving6. Cleaving, Julie Powell.  Her marriage in danger from an affaire, Julie decides to drown in her new obsession, butchering.  She learns the trade at Fleischer’s, and loves the camaraderie.  She embarks on a journey to search out butchers around the world.  This book sounds great, but in truth I bought it because I wasn’t ready to let go of Julie and Julia.

 

Hungry for Happiness7. Hungry for Happiness, James Villas.  Loretta’s husband has left her for a thinner woman.  She decides that it is time to get control of her life.  She starts with lap band surgery and starts dieting.  She still loves to cook, though, and makes a name for herself as a great cook, then starts a catering company.  This book said it was “a story of friendship, dreams and determination featuring a sassy Southern heroine as real as she is unforgettable”.  I snatched the book up on the blurb alone.  Don’t know if I want to read it, though, as the reviews are terrible.

life of pi8. Life of Pi, Yann Martel.  A fantasy/ adventure novel about a boy that survives 227 day after a shipwreck, stranded on a boat with a tiger.  Seriously, am I the only one that hasn’t read this?  With the release of the movie, I promised myself I would read it and bought a cheap copy.  I will read it eventually.

 

across a green ocean.jpg9. Across a Green Ocean, Wendy Lee.  The blurb on Goodreads is  the reason I got this one,  it just sounds so good!  “In a powerful novel that captures the struggle of the immigrant experience, Wendy Lee explores one family’s hidden history and unspoken hurts, and the universal themes of identity, family, and finding a place to call home.

last train10.Last Train to Instanbul, Ayse Kulin.  Selva, daughter of the last Ottoman Pasha fell in love with Rafael Alfandari, the Jewish son of the court physician.  They marry and flee to Paris.  When Nazis invade France, things get dangerous.  Turkish diplomats hatch a plan to save the Alfandaris and hundreds of innocents to safety.

     So that’s my list!  What’s on your list?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! Books that have been on my TBR LIST FOR WAY TOO LONG.

Leave a Reply

