Posted in bookish rambles, in other news

What’s New Wednesday? Week 18

Willy WonkaHey guys!  Today is August 31st, and We Love Memoirs Day.  Do you guys have any favorites?  I believe mine is still I Shall Not Hate, by Izzeldin Abuelaish.  It is beautiful and heart breaking.  You can get it here.  So….

What’s up with me?

For the last week up until yesterday I was basically on radio silence.  I had some serious dental issues and ended up going on a leave of absence from work so that I could get it taken care of.  Four pulled teeth and antibiotics later, I wasn’t really feeling coherent.  I read a lot to work through the pain, and all of my reviews are now up.  The removal was Monday and I do feel much better.  I have to admit my teeth are bad- I have a fear of dentists irrational as it is.  Also, control issues.  Seriously, I can’t even get a manicure unless I trust the person because I have issues giving up my hand.  I had a really bad/ mean dentist when I was young and I just can’t relax.  This one, though, made me very comfortable and I believe we will do well together.  Sorry if this is oversharing.

What’s New In News?

Gene Wilder- actor, icon and legend- passed away on the 29th at the age of 83.  We all knew his work, I grew up watching him.  Through his role as Willy Wonka he was an integral part of many children’s lives.  I hate that the world lost this brilliant man, I love that he can now rest easy.  Here’s a good article about him.

What’s new in books?

The Reader by Traci Chee comes out on the 13th.  If you haven’t heard about it, my review is here.  Honestly, I just loved it!  I can’t wait to see what others think of it.

Well, that’s it for now loves.  What’s new with you?

Amber

Leave a Reply

