Posted in bookish rambles, in other news

What’s New Wednesday? Week 21!

world-globe-and-dove-clip-art  Hey guys!  Today is International Day of Peace.  This year they are talking about the seventeen sustainable development goals to improve life around the globe.  There’s an interesting article here.  Now, then, let’s get to it!

What’s new with me?

For my birthday I got an amazon gift card, I used some on books but I also bought something else- I know, I am as shocked as you are!  I found coffee bean essential oil.  I am so excited!  I dabble a bit, making lotions and scrubs because I have eczema and I found that making my own diminished my breakouts.  I rarely get them anymore!  I tried over the summer to make a coffee and brown sugar body scrub, but was unhappy with the results.  I loved the scent and it was awesome for my skin, but I would find random coffee grounds on me through the day no matter how much I rinsed.  With the oil, I won’t have that problem but I will get the results!  Now, pinterest does have a recipe for making this…. but it’s relatively cheap and I am lazy.  Other than that I am reading Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco.  I really love it so far!

What’s new in news?

So in another WTF moment, in Beaumont, Ca an unknown man was walking up to cars in the Burger King drive through armed with a stick and a hatchet.  Police tried to diffuse the situation, but the assailant was shot.  He was pronounced dead at the hospital.  Thankfully, no one else was injured.  Read the story here.

    What’s new in books?

https://zahraammar.wordpress.com/  (Zahra Ammar) has her first book of poetry out on Amazon!  I was intrigued, plus the price is great, so I snapped it up.  I went through the short book of poems rather quickly, going through the emotions with her.  It was beautiful, sometimes sad, and always interesting.  In my usual style I will no doubt read these poems several more times before actually giving it a review post, but my first impression is that it is amazing.  Go see it for yourself!  Link to book.

Well, that’s it for me.  What’s new with you?

Amber

Leave a Reply

