Posted in Book Reviews

Stalking Jack the Ripper, Kerri Maniscalco

stalking-jack-the-ripperspolier alertTitle: Stalking Jack the Ripper

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Pages: 336

Genre: YA, suspense, thriller

Part of a series?  Yes.  This is the first book in a series named after this book.  It seems there will be more, but I have found no info.

Published: September 20th, 2016

Audrey Rose is a girl out of depth in her time.  Born into an age where women are seen as more delicate and in want of marriage, all she wants is to be free to be herself.  She feels strongest when helping her uncle with dissecting cadavers.  Science and sleuthing thrill her more than tea rooms.  Oh, she loves a pretty dress…. but why must a woman be only one thing.

When someone starts targeting women of the night, Audrey is roped into the cases by her uncle and his assistant Thomas.  Can a woman solve the mystery?  And what happens when the clues hit a little too close to her sheltered world?

Reading this book I often forgot that this was Maniscalco’s first novel.  The writing was smooth, practiced.  The character development was good save where it was murky for the story.  I loved Audrey and her uncle.  I felt for her father, though I rarely agreed with him.  The plot was well done.  There are reviews saying that it was a bit predictable… I did not find it so, but then that’s just me.    Five Stars

On the adult content scale, some of the scenes were quite graphic in their gruesomeness.  It is meant for teens, but be aware that it is violent.  Parental Guidance

It ended in such a way that not only am I expecting more from Audrey Rose, I am looking forward to them.  While I am not sure I would have named the entire series after one case, I am pleased that there will be more.

I was very interested to know the type of book James Patterson would choose to publish under his company, Jimmy Patterson… honestly I can’t wait to see what comes next!

The book is out now- go get it!

Link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber

 

5 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper, Kerri Maniscalco

Leave a Reply

