Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

The Killing Game, J.S. Carol

the-killing-gamespolier alertTitle: The Killing Game

Author: J. S. Carol

Pages: 380

Genre: Thriller

Part of a series?  No.

Publish Date: October 13th, 2016

First, thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for giving me an advanced copy of this book for the price of an honest review.  What follows will be a brief summary and then my feelings, thoughts and rating.  This will be a very opinionated review so please take it with a grain of salt.  The wonderful thing about the book community is that even if one person does not feel a book, someone else might love it.

Now, then… imagine you are one of Hollywood’s elite.  You eat at Alfie’s because it is the place to see and be seen.  Beautiful with great food and no windows, meaning no paparazzi snapping candids.  In the middle of lunch a gunman walks in.  Everyone is now his hostage, and you can’t lie, act, or smooze your way out of this.  He knows your secrets, he knows when you are lying.  And if anyone wants to try to be a hero…. well, he also has a bomb strapped to himself.  If he dies, so do you.  You have four hours to explain why you should live.

The premise grabbed me immediately.  I had to know how this would play out!  It started with a glimpse into a great character.  The writing style was flawless and it was fast paced and interesting.  Then we got to chapter two…. for me, it dropped dramatically.  It wasn’t as fast paced, it was in fact nearly glacial.  You got a look at several characters and some interesting back story.  Unfortunately, for me is dragged forever.  I found myself bargaining to continue.  “Just fifty more pages, and I will open another book, give myself a break.”  Leisure reading should not feel this way.  It didn’t help that I had a hard time liking any of the characters.  Oh, JJ and Alex were well developed, but so wrapped up in themselves that it was hard to like them.  I felt more for the gunman.  Now, about 75% in, things started really moving along again.  The rest of the book flew by for me and I am glad I finished it.  I think I would have missed out if I had made this a DNF.    In the end, it just wasn’t for me.  I have to give it two stars.  The pacing, the lack of feeling for most characters on my part, the wasted potential… I couldn’t get past it.  Two Stars

On the adult content scale, there’s a lot.  There was language, violence, talk of past sexual content, drugs, and some really heavy hitting issues.  I would not be comfortable with my niece reading it, so I have to give it a seven.  adult content road sign

The book comes out 10/13/2016.  It the premise intrigues you, pick it up.  Let me know what you think.

Link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber  pro_reader_120

One thought on “The Killing Game, J.S. Carol

Leave a Reply

