Posted in Book Reviews

For the Love of Mary, Christopher Meades

for-the-love-of-maryspolier alertTitle: For the Love of Mary

Author: Christopher Meades

Pages: 340

Genre: YA, Literary fiction

Part of a series?  No.

Published: June 14th, 2016

Jacob is a normal, if hilarious, 15 year old boy who doesn’t feel terrible about himself.  He considers himself “almost”- almost funny, almost good looking, and almost worthy of falling in love.  But there’s really no one there to help him figure it all out.  His best friend is going through his own issues with body issues and romantic feelings, his sister is wrapped up in her dating life and his mother is waging a crazy war with the (much larger and better built) church across the street from hers.  Between billboard arguments and throwing shade a Santa, plus being roped into being a “mole” Jacob has enough on his plate.

And then there’s Mary, the big church minister’s daughter.  She is smart, kind, funny and gorgeous.  Jacob is instantly in love.  In the process of trying to win her, he is attacked by a bearded lady for his ice cream.  He also learns about the dangers of becoming addicted to the nudie bars, and why you shouldn’t peep in windows.  And then there’s Youth Pastor Glen, Mary’s boyfriend to contend with.  The path to love is fraught with peril.

Okay, this book was completely off the wall in the best way.  I thoroughly enjoyed the writing style here.  The descriptions were especially good. I found myself laughing out loud, and shared quite a few quotes that made me smile to my Litsy account.  I loved the plot, and the crazy characters.  I loved the interaction between them all.  It was over the top, but it was so much fun.  Now I will say that it is getting mixed reviews on Goodreads, which forced me to put as much thought into the purchase of this book as some people put into the buying of a car.  I waffled back and forth for what felt like forever and was in reality probably less than a month.  I am so glad I bought it though!  Seriously, five stars, plus one for creativity.  Five Stars  star

I can’t let go without just a few quotes:

(on sexuality- Mary talking to Jacob) …”We’re all given these physical cravings, and Lord help us, they start when we’re teenagers, sometimes even preteens, so we don’t know what to do with them.  And then our parents tell us to keep it in our pants.  And meanwhile my grandmother is writing erotica.  Don’t laugh.  I’m not kidding.  When I caught them doing it, my sister told me she’d found a short story grandma was working on.  It was straight-up erotica.”

(on noticing his mother’s moods) ‘My mother’s jaw was clenched.  I’d seen this look before, that night when my father came home from a bachelor party smelling of perfume, whisky, and shame, unable to explain the patch of stripper glitter on his shoulder.’

(the same) ‘Mom looked over at Dad, who was quivering like a frightened gerbil.’

On the adult content scale, there is some fairly light sexual content and some language.  Nothing major, as it is geared toward young teens.  I give it a three.  General.svg

The book is out now (and very reasonable at $4.99).  Go get it!

Amazon Kindle

Amber

 

One thought on “For the Love of Mary, Christopher Meades

Leave a Reply

