Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

Love, Alice, Barbara Davis

love-alicespolier alert

Title: Love, Alice

Author: Barbara Davis

Pages: 432

Genre: fiction, women’s lit

Part of a series?  No

Publish Date:  December 6th, 2016

 

My thanks to Netgalley and Berkley Publishing group for allowing me access to an advanced copy of this book for the price of an honest review.  I loved it.

                “….My fiancé committed suicide just before our wedding, and I was trying to figure how I hadn’t seen it coming, what I had or hadn’t done.  And here was this woman, leaving a letter to a dead girl.  I thought if I read it I might gain some kind of insight.  Instead, I found myself obsessed.  I had to know Alice’s story.”

And that’s Dovie Larkin.  For the last year she struggled with her fiancé, William’s suicide and the multitude of unanswered questions.  She has no real social life, and her career is floundering.  Every day she eats her lunch in the cemetery.  One day she sees Dora Tandy, an old woman that came half way across the world for forgiveness, only to realize that she was too late.    The letter, Dora’s final attempt to right a wrong, is left in front of a grave.

Dovie can’t help herself, she takes the letter.  Once she reads it, she is obsessed with knowing more.    With the help of a cemetery worker, she finds many letters written by Alice Tandy, the deceased.    Within she finds a story of heartbreak.  After the man she was to marry dies, Alice finds herself in a bad way with no friend in sight.  Being an unwed mother just isn’t done.  Her mother sends her away to have the baby.  Somewhere that will take the baby and adopt it out- whether the mother wants to or not.    The rest of her life is spent trying to find her child.  Going to America, she is given an address…. but how can this be right?  Inside is a warm and loving woman named Gemma Tate and her son, Austin.  Upon hearing her story, Gemma hires Alice to be Austin’s nanny.  Over the years she helps her send out inquiries, only to be hiding her own devastating truth.  This is a story about mistakes and redemption.  About letting go.  It can be difficult to read sometimes, but it is so worth it.

I loved this book.  I adored the characters, and felt the plot was very well written.  The pacing was perfectly steady, allowing a smooth flow from the letters to the present.  Now, I started the summary with a quote from my advanced copy.  I don’t usually do this, because the words can change in the final copy… but I felt that this about summed it up.  It was a fantastic, spellbinding story. Five Stars

On the adult content scale, there is a lot.  There is sexual content, though not explicit.  Language, cruelty and pain.  I would say that the content makes this more of an adult novel.  I have to give it a five at least.  adult content road sign

The book comes out 12/06/2016, and I cannot recommend it enough.

link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber  pro_reader_120

One thought on “Love, Alice, Barbara Davis

Leave a Reply

