Posted in bookish rambles, in other news, Up and Coming Releases

What’s New Wednesday? Week 28

First Phase Digital

Hey guys!  Sorry my post is a bit late, I ran out of time before work this morning.  Today is Wednesday, November 16th, and it is the International Day of Tolerance.  Ten years ago the UN decided on this day to follow up 1995, the year of tolerance.  It is hoped to respect, dignity, togetherness and… well… tolerance across the world.  It is, I think, something we very much need right now.    Now then, let’s begin.

What’s new with me?

I think I told you guys a few weeks ago that my husband went into the attic crawl space to do insulation?  Yeah, he gave himself a hernia.  We did an outpatient surgery on Monday morning which went very well.  Darling Warren was not thrilled about it at all, of coarse.  He doesn’t like needles, or scalpels… or sedation.  Yeah, he was not an optimum patient.  When it was over, the nurse came and got me and said that my husband might be acting “a bit odd” due to the meds.  I went in and there he was, cataloging all his complaints (gout flare up on the toe, dizziness, inability to remember what happened while sedated, vision impairment…. it was a long list.  Oh, and he was mad that they were claiming they didn’t tape the surgery, and he could not have a copy of the tape).  Understand, all this (save gout) is normal for someone coming back from sedation.  I had to look at the nurse and tell her this was normal for him.  God love the man, they didn’t know what to do with him.  Darling Warren is doing well now, there’s some redness around the area and some tenderness.  He’s keeping an eye on it,  But I think everything’s good.  I did tell Mr. Fix-it that if we had to go through this again I was recording  everything after surgery and would post it to YouTube.  Hopefully this will make him a bit more careful in the future.  If nothing else he has a brace of sorts that he is supposed to wear when doing strenuous work from now on.

What’s new with news?

A drunk driver is trying to blame the VICTIM for the crash that killed her.  Seriously.  Robert Spurger, 53,  was driving intoxicated.  He drove the wrong way down an exit ramp  on October 17th and crashed into Maria Ramirez’s jeep.    The accident killed three people.  The Ramirez family, seeking damages, were told by Spurger’s lawyer that the accident was caused by Ramirez herself.  All I can say, is that this is sick.  I feel for the Ramirez family.  If I understand what I have read right Spurger is also going after the bar that sold him alcohol.    Find the article here.

What’s new in books?

teach me to forgetThis book was originally supposed to come out in September, then when I preordered the hard back novel I was informed that it would not be coming until March of next year.  Goodreads has it listed as coming out December 2nd 2016.  If amazon is correct, though, I should be getting my copy tomorrow.  I will let you guys know!

I am just going to give you guys the Goodreads summary, because it’s awesome and I cannot say it better.

Ellery’s bought the gun, made arrangements for her funeral, and even picked the day. A Wednesday. Everything has fallen into place.

Now all she has to do is die.

When her plans go awry and the gun she was going to kill herself with breaks, she does the one thing she has control over–return it and get a new one. After tormenting the crusty customer service associate by trying to return the gun with the wrong receipt, Ellery gets caught by the security guard who also happens to be someone she knows–the annoyingly perfect Colter Sawyer from her English class.

Colter quickly uncovers what she’s hiding and is determined to change her mind. After confessing a closely held secret of his own, he promises not to tell hers. Ellery tries to fight her attraction to him as the shadows of her past cling tight around her, but when she’s faced with another tragedy, she must decide whether her love for one boy is more important than a lifetime of pain.

Ugh, this sounds amazing!  I hope I get it soon!

So, that’s it for me.  What’s new with you?

Amber

 

Leave a Reply

