Fangirling my way through 2016

I admit, I am WAY too old to be getting all crazy about things.  I also admit that it still happens.  For Instance, I preordered the screenplay for Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them five months ago just so that I knew it would download immediately when it was released.  I proceeded to wake myself up at 3:00 AM on a work day to start said book.  (Half way through the book by the way and I love it so much).  Once off work I proceeded to my town’s big book store to check out their FB swag- completely lacking, by the way.  Target had a great book though.  Inside the making of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them has all sorts of info about the movie with great pics and behind the scene stuff- mostly I got it because of the images of the beasts.  That’s what it’s all about for  me.

So, obviously I am fangirling pretty hard there.  This made me think of all the other books that I kind of (an really) acted irrationally about in 2016.  Let’s take a walk down memory lane and list them.

  • Lady Midnight, Cassandra Clare 1.   Alright, I loved this book and waited for it for what felt like forever.  It was one that I preordered immediately.  I had loved the Mortal Instruments series, and the Clockwork series.  I was super excited about this book and I inhaled it.  Book two is coming out in May of next year and I am already considering preordering just so I know I have budgeted for it.  (A lot of my book money comes out of rebate money I get from my Ibotta ap.  I have a register on my phone that I use to keep track of what I have and what I have allocated elsewhere as far as book money goes.)
  • The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko2.  I loved this book for so many reasons.  I didn’t know about it until I got the book from Netgalley, but I went out of my mind about it.  I inhaled the book and then wished I could have lunch with the author.  It was creative and poignant, beautiful and ridiculously funny.  I loved Ivan, perverted thing that he was.  I loved the writing style, and the extremely unique insults and euphemisms.  (I believe it has the Russian translation for “beef whistle” in the book in reference to one’s penis.)  I am still obsessed with this book.
  • Fried Green3.  From the start, all I could think was “Why haven’t I read this book yet?”.    Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café will forever be a favorite of mine.  It read like old friends gossiping to one another, taking me to another time and place.  I loved the interaction between characters, and the plot was amazing.  It will always be a favorite of mine I think.

 

4.  This one blew me away.  Time traveling family, secrets, great characters… This book has it all.  I fell madly in love Passengerwith the characters and the premise.  I could not let go.  Thus, I have preordered Wayfarer (book 2), which comes out in January, and went on the library’s web site to request all the books in her earlier series.  I am seriously obsessed with this author.

 

 

 

5.  the-darkest-minds  I picked up this series in order to see more from Alexandra Bracken.  I was spellbound.  The premise, the characters, the writing style… It just grabbed a hold of me.  I loved it so much, it will definitely be a re-read for me.

 

 

Now, what makes me say that I am “fangirling” about these books?  I would see a movie made of any of these.  I would buy swag- and I never want to buy book swag.  I would wear shirts with quotes or images from any of these books.  I would buy buttons, posters, little figurines… seriously.  shut-up-and-take-my-money

 

 

 

What have you guys been really excited about?

Amber

One thought on “Fangirling my way through 2016

Leave a Reply

