Posted in Book Reviews

Library of Souls, Ransom Riggs

library-of-soulsspolier alertTitle: Library of Souls

Author Ransom Riggs

Pages: 464

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Part of a series? Yes, book three of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children.

Published:  September 22, 2015

Our children travel from modern London to the wright’s hide-out, Devil’s Acres.  In their ongoing attempt to free their friends and ymbrynes, Jacob and Emma come across a lot of different people.  Some friends, and some foe.  Jacob’s gift of Hollow speech and control is growing, but will be grow fast enough?  The wright’s end-game is discovered, they want the Library of Souls where the souls of past peculiars are held.  To get what they want they need one more thing- Jacob.

The final battle is fought and out children are victorious, but not without casualties.  As they try to piece their world back together, Jacob feels obligated to go back to his.  His life with his parents, though, isn’t what it was.  It is strained, and they can’t understand what he’s been through- he can’t tell them.  They think he is insane, that he ran away.  At their wits end, they decide on a few weeks at a “resort” (read: loony bin).  Saved by a last ditch effort by friends, we can only imagine how this is going to be.  (Mostly because I don’t believe there are any more books forthcoming).

I have to say, I loved this one.  it was intriguing and kept me guessing.  I loved the new and recurring characters, even the ones that could not be trusted.  I adored Jacob, trying so hard to do everything, to the point of feeling obligation toward the hollows.  While the end was a bit open for me (I am a great fan of closure), I still loved it and can’t imagine it ending any other way.  I can imagine each of the children moving forward.  The story was fast paced and spell binding.  I am so glad I read this series, I only wish I hadn’t dithered so long!  Five stars for the Library of Souls!  Five Stars

As far as the adult content scale goes, there is still a large amount of fairly graphic violence and some talk of drug addiction.  I would still give these books to my niece, but I feel like parents should go through the book first to decide (that is, if their kid reading about violence bothers them).  I give it a five. Parental Guidance

The book is out, go get it!

Link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber

2 thoughts on “Library of Souls, Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

