Posted in bookish rambles, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday2Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog.  I haven’t done one of these in what feels like forever, but I just had to jump on this one.  There have been so many good finds!

So, I give you this week’s prompt: top ten authors that are “new to you” from 2016.

  1. Scott Stambach.  He wrote The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, and I loved it.   I devoured that book, loving the sarcastic little ass that was our main character.  Born with severe birth defects giving him one arm and a stump (no legs), Ivan has spent his whole life in a hospital in Belarus.  What grabbed me was his intelligence, his wit, his way with an insult, and his personal growth through the story.  I loved this book.
  2. Alexandra Bracken.  She wrote Passenger this year and I loved it (I have already preordered the second book in the series).  A girl finds out that her family are time travelers and there is a whole world of things her mother didn’t tell her- but only after being abducted by her cousin.  I was so enthralled with the character development and the writing style that I immediately went out to find anything else that I could by her.  The Darkest Minds series is also amazing.
  3. Ransom Riggs.  While I have known about this author for some time, I never read the books because I was afraid I would be let down due to all the hype.  I don’t know if I should include him, but I am going to.  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, the first book at least, was nothing like what I expected.  It was really unique and well written.  I was pulled into their world immediately.
  4. Ned Hays.  I loved The Eagle Tree with it’s very unique narrative.  Your MC is a young teen with autism.  Hays worked really hard to make him relatable, while never downplaying the character’s affection.
  5. John Corey Whaley.  Highly Illogical Behavior revolves mostly around two characters.  Solomon is agoraphobic- he hasn’t left his house in years- not since the incident in middle school.  Lisa is an overachiever.  She wants into the university with the best phycology department.  To do so she needs a really good paper… what better way than to help the boy she remembers from middle school?  If she can study, and help, Solomon… that would make a great paper.  I loved this book- I laughed and cried with the characters.  I just really loved the writing style here.
  6. Patrick Ness.  I loved A Monster Calls!  It was well written and intriguing with fantastic characters and so much heart.  Creepy in parts and suspenseful, it still allowed for a wide array of emotions.  I really cannot say enough good things about this book!
  7. Lauren Layne.  She wrote The Wedding Belles series.  I just adored these books!  They were funny, sassy, and fast paced with just a dash of sexy.  These were some of my favorite contemporary adult romances of the year.
  8. Paul Brinkley-Rogers.  Please Enjoy Your Happiness is a fantastic memoir that reads like amazing fiction.  19 year old navy man Paul meets an older Japanese woman while serving.  It talks about their friendship, his love for her, and their affair as well as her life and their parting.  I loved this book.  It haunts me still.
  9. Keri Maniscalco.  Stalking Jack the Ripper is a definite favorite of mine for the year.  A young woman helps her uncle in secret with his studies of corpses.  When Leather Apron comes on the scene, Aurey Rose wants to help.  Is she strong enough, though?  It was really intriguing and actually ended in such a way as we could be seeing more of Audrey.
  10. Matthew J. Kirby.  A Taste for Monsters was an amazing book.  I loved the portrayal of Joseph Merrick, The Elephant Man and Evelyn his disfigured nurse.  I hadn’t thought it would be so touching, as the premise is that the spirits of Jack the Ripper’s victims come to them.  I thought it would be suspenseful and a bit creepy… and it was in parts.  Mostly, though, it was sweet and touching.  I loved it.

    Please understand, this is only a fraction of the authors I have found and loved.  To list them all would take far too long.  It has been a wonderful literary year, though.  I started my blog and discovered Netgalley… a whole new world of books came open for me.  I cannot wait to see what 2017 looks like!  (Though I have already preordered three books for January).

    What did you guys find this year?

Amber

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

