Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

World, Chase Me Down, Andrew Hilleman

world-chase-me-downspolier alert

Title: World, Chase Me Down

Author: Andrew Hilleman

Pages: 352

Genre: Historical Fiction

Part of a series?  No, this is a stand alone novel.

Publishing Date: January 24th, 2016.

Thank you to First to Read for allowing me to read an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Pat Crowe:  kidnapper, robber, fugitive.  This fictional account of his life is filled with crazy tales and escapades- many of which are true (some have been embellished a bit).  Being one of the first to successfully kidnap a kid, get the ransom, and get away, Pat Crowe was a big deal back in his day.  The fact that he took the boy of a hated meat mogul, and after returning the boy escaped capture for five years before turning himself in made him a bit of a legend.  When he went to trial?  Not guilty.  In here we learn about Pat Crowe- his life, his loves, his friends, and what drove him to commit what was called, for a time, the crime of the century.

I loved this book so much!  Last night I stayed up until two in the morning- forever swearing it would be “just one more page”.  Any bibliophile knows this for a lie!  Our narrator, Pat Crowe, takes us through his life from when he came to his sister’s whore house in Omaha where he met the woman he would marry; and through to his trial and beyond.  The writing style flows like an older man’s memory, sometimes meandering off in another direction, but always returning giving you a feeling of sitting with this man and having him tell you his story.  The characters were interesting and well developed, though I could wish Hattie had a bit more dimension.

When I saw this on First to Read, I was torn.  I wasn’t sure if this book would be in my wheelhouse, so to speak, but it sounded so good!!!!  In the end I had to have it, and I am so glad I did.  This book enthralled me, I couldn’t put it down!  I already have four people in mind that I want to get copies for.  Five stars all the way!  Five Stars

On the adult content scale…. it’s a definite eight.  Language, violence, drunkenness, sexual content.  You name it, it’s there somewhere; but what a ride!  adult content rubber stamp

The book comes out January 24th- do not miss out!

Link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber

 

 

One thought on “World, Chase Me Down, Andrew Hilleman

Leave a Reply

