Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

Lotus, Lijia Zhang

lotusspolier alertTitle: Lotus

Author: Lijia Zhang

Pages: 384

Genre: literary fiction

Part of a series?  No.

Publish Date:   January 10th, 2017.

*Thank you to Netgalley and Henry Holt and Co.  for giving me an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

This book is inspired by the secret life of Zhang’s grandmother.  Lotus defies her fate and heads to the city to find her fortune.  What she finds is that there’s not a lot of honest work- especially the kind that will allow her to pay for her brother’s schooling.  Having been pulled from school herself, she wants more for Shang.

Becoming a ji (prostitute), Lotus wires money home saying that she waits tables.  Through out her time in the city she meets several men, a big business man, a savvy migrant worker and a kind photographer- all three want Lotus in their life, but whom will she choose?

I liked this book a lot, with it’s diverse cast of characters and lyrical prose.  I loved Lotus, always trying to reconcile what she has done with who she sees herself to be.  I loved Hu Binbing, wanting to show the world of the ji.  I loved his gentle nature and kindness.  I especially loved that none of these characters were perfect, but it was their imperfections that made me love them.

Now, I will say that I was hoping for something as magical as Memoir of a Geisha,  and I just didn’t get that amount of magic.  Maybe I was just expecting too much.  All in all I give it a four.  Four Stars

On the adult content scale, there is sexual content, language and violence.  I would say a seven.  mature audience.

The book comes out 1-10-2017, I highly recommend it.

Link to book:

Amazon Kindle

Amber

 

 

One thought on “Lotus, Lijia Zhang

Leave a Reply

