The Good Daughter, Alexandra Burt

the-good-daughterspolier alert

Title: The Good Daughter

Author: Alexandra Burt

Pages: 400

Genre: suspense

Part of a series?  No.

Publish date: February 7th, 2017

Before I get into the summary, I would like to thank First To Read for allowing me to read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.  I also feel that I need to add that this will be a very opinionated review, and does not match all of the others.  Some people loved this book, and I loved parts…. Let’s just get on with it shall we?

How far would you go for the only thing you really want?  Dahlia Waller remembers mostly moves in her childhood.  Always in the car, always at night.  Never staying in one place too long, never going to school… never having the “right paperwork”.  Now that she is grown she wants to distance herself from all of that, but she has questions.  Coming home to her mother, she just hopes that they can finally get some honest answers.  With her mother seeming on the brink of madness, it’s hard to get the story she needs.  Slowly, though, the pieces come together to make a picture that could break them both.

Told in four POV’s, this book circles around Dahlia, her mother Memphis, a young woman named Quinn and the town “witch” Aella.  The four woman come together to reveal one story of pain, heartache and decisions that last a lifetime.  It is a well thought out premise, and the execution was okay… mostly I just felt like pieces were predictable. Not all of it, mind you, but enough that I had a hard time labeling this as suspense.  I certainly didn’t see it as a thriller.  I really liked some of the characters, especially later in the book  as we got to know them.  Dahlia was a hard sell for me, though-or should I say adult Dahlia.  I liked the flashbacks of her as a kid.  I felt for Quinn, and at times for Memphis.  The characters were all very interesting; it was just missing something for me.  Maybe I caught on too fast?  I wanted more suspense, more mystery.   Because of that, I am going to give this one three stars- barely.  The good parts simply did not justify the rest.Three Stars

On the adult content scale, I want to rank it pretty high.  There is sexual content- not all consensual, language, and violence.  I would not recommend this for a teen, at least not without the parent reading it first. adult content road sign

The book comes out 2-07-17.  Let me know what you think.

Link to book:

Amazon

 

2 thoughts on “The Good Daughter, Alexandra Burt

Leave a Reply

