Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

Disaster Falls… I failed

disaster-fallsspolier alertTitle: Disaster Falls

Author: Stephane Gerson

Pages: 256

Genre: nonfiction, autobiography

Part of a series?  No.

Publish Date: January 24th, 2017

Thank you to First to Read for the chance to read an e-ARC of this book in exchange for a review.  I fear I have failed you, as I cannot finish this book in my current emotional state.  In the thrall of the Winter Blues, this piece while eloquent and beautifully written, is more than I can take.  I will get into that later, but for now… the summary.

This book circles around the event that broke his family’s heart- the death of his son, Owen.  Drowning on a rafting trip in a place called Disaster Falls, the eight year old’s life was cut short leaving a hole in the small family.  Gerson catalogs the time after that and how he, his wife and his other son coped.  Things they felt, things friends said, how they greave, and perhaps how they heal.

I was very interested in this book,  and have read the like before.  At the moment, though, I have to throw in the towel.  This is a DNF not because it is poorly written but because I cannot afford to give myself over to that pain just yet.  It was to vivid, too engulfing.  I felt like I was trying to swim through a whirlpool of pain and I kept having to put the book down.  After sixty pages, I feel like we have gotten no where.  They talk, remember Owen.  There are some lovely anecdotes that I quite liked.  It was very real reactions to the loss of a son, and yet it hurt me that often I felt Julian was left behind to grieve for his brother on his own.  There is in fact a part where he admits that his parents didn’t care what he ate for days…. basically his parents, in their pain, forgot to take care of their son.  I hope this changes through the book, but I can only critique the beginning.  I kept having to put the book down, my chest hurting too much to allow for any more pain.  My heart goes out to this family…. I cannot even… well, as you so eloquently showed, there are no words for a grieving parent.

Again, I do want to return to this book later, when I am feeling more fresh and sunny myself.  Right now, I can’t, and I am so sorry.

The book comes out 1-24-2017.  Please let me know what you think.

Amber

Leave a Reply

