Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

My Last Lament, James William Brown

my-last-lamentspolier alertTitle: My Last Lament

Author: James William Brown

Pages:  352

Genre: Historical fiction

Is this part of a series?  No.

Publish Date: April 4th, 2017

My thanks to First to Read for giving me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Summary:

Aliki is a lamentor- one who laments and celebrates the passing of life.  When asked by an American scholar to record her laments for study, she decided to do things a bit differently.  Thus begins our journey through war torn Greece, beside a young Aliki.  Already used to loss, she remains mute due to seeing her father’s passing.  Her voice returns to her when her adoptive mother and friend pass- Aliki’s first lament.

As time marches forward Aliki must keep her loved ones safe and happy, no tall order.  There’s joy, loss, pain and lament.  Even as the war is ending, and Greece is coming back into it’s own, Aliki must rediscover her strength and move forward, etching a spot for herself in a community.  Lamenting and celebrating lives.  As she says, there are always more dead.

My Thoughts:

I am a bit of a mess right now, having just finished this amazing book.  I loved Aliki for her heart, her courage and her kindness.  I loved our dreamer Stelios.  I loved all the mothers.  The characters, and their interactions hit you hard.  It was a beautifully written story, flowing back and forth through time to create an unimaginable picture of loss and pain, beauty and strength.  Five stars!  Five Stars

On the adult content scale, obviously there is quite a lot of violence, we are in a war setting after all.  Some was extremely hard to handle.  There was also language.  Due to the severity of violence alone I would give it a six.  Parental Guidance

The book comes out 4-4-17, I highly recommend it.

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

One thought on “My Last Lament, James William Brown

Leave a Reply

