Posted in Book Reviews

The Idea of You, Amanda Prowse

the idea of youspolier alert

Title: The Idea of You

Author: Amanda Prowse

Pages: 322

Genre: women’s lit

Is this part of a series?  No

Published: March 21st, 2017

I received an eARC of this book from Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing.

Summary:

                Nearing forty, Lucy Carpenter finally feels like she can have it all.  She has a great job, and a fantastic husband in Jonah; all she needs to complete this is a baby.  This, though, is harder to achieve than she thought.  After several miscarriages, Lucy is feeling fragile.  It’s now that Jonah’s teen daughter comes to stay, bringing her own dynamic into the family.  Can Lucy keep it together at work, and keep her family together while she herself is unraveling?  Added to this is a secret heartache from the past, one that she never told a soul, that just might be the ruin of her world.

My thoughts:

I loved this book, even as it broke me.  I loved Lucy, I wept for her and her great desire to be a mother.  Each miscarriage tore me apart, as if it were happening to a friend.  The pain, and the characters were very real, and the premise was perfect.  Without giving anything away, I will also say that I loved the ending and how Lucy grew through the book.

Interspersed through the book are snippets of a letter that Lucy is writing.  It reads like a journal entry almost, and gives us great insight into her feelings toward motherhood.  I really liked that aspect, and felt like it added a lot to the story.  This was definitely a five star book for me!  Five Stars

On the adult content scale, there’s language and some sexual content though it is fairly tame.  I give it a four.  General.svg

The book is out- have Kleenex ready!

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

One thought on “The Idea of You, Amanda Prowse

Leave a Reply

