Posted in bookish rambles, Up and Coming Releases

Let’s talk about today’s new releases!

fantastic-beasts-crew a monster calls movie

This is a great week for new releases!!!!  In movies, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is out, along with A Monster Calls.  Now I got to see Fantastic Beasts in theatres with the O’hana and I adored that one- it’s definitely going to be a buy.  I have been looking forward to A Monster Calls, as I loved the book.  I am a bit behind in my movies though- I haven’t even seen Sing or Moana (or Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, if I am being honest).

These three beauties came out today- I even braved the local big book store for my copy of The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley  (there will be a mini rant at the end of this post about this experience).  I got an ARC for it and just loved it, I had to have a paper copy.

The Black Book is the newest James Patterson thriller.  I am about a third of the way in and I am loving it.

Strange the Dreamer is one of the books I was most excited about last year (the release was pushed back twice).  I had preordered this with my Barnes and Nobles settlement certificate last summer.  It sounds gorgeous and I can’t wait to read it!

And now, my mini rant.  I went to Books A Million today expecting to glance at their New Release table, snap some picks for the blog and get my book.  The books on the New Release table are mostly from January and February- they even had old bookshots on the table instead of the new ones.  Why have a table labeled New Releases if you aren’t going to put today’s releases on it?  I searched the store for ten minutes then waited in line for fifteen to talk to one of the two associates.  It seems the cashier did not know how to properly order a book for a customer so the café associate had to fix the transaction twice.  Realizing that my chosen associate may not be the most knowledgeable, I went after the café associate.  I waited for her to finish her drinks and asked her where today’s releases might be.  When I gave her the name of the book, she said she could not be sure whether they had it or not, but I ought to wait there for her.  Ten minutes later, she shows up with five copies.  That’s thirty five minutes mind you.  Still, she tried, and I felt bad for her so I ended up buying the book from them instead of Amazon- which by the way was eight dollars cheaper.  I swear I am never going into this store again.  We have some amazing used bookstores here in town, and I adore them.  In fact, I will be going to the anniversary party for Always Buying Books this weekend.  Sadly, you can’t get new releases there.  So, Amazon for the win.

What do you guys think?  What are you excited about this week?  And also, do you think I am being too harsh on the book store?   Being in retail myself, I know things happen… but honestly.  That was a hot mess.

Amber

 

 

One thought on “Let’s talk about today’s new releases!

Leave a Reply

