Posted in Book Reviews

The Black Book, James Patterson and David Ellis

the-black-bookspolier alertTitle: The Black Book

Author: James Patterson and David Ellis

Pages:  448

Genre: Mystery

Is this part of a series?  No.

Published: March 28th, 2017

Summary:

How can you prove your innocence if you can’t remember the crime?  Billy Harney is a good cop- as is his father and sister.  It’s in the blood.  Shortly after the case of a life time that sees several prominent members of society shamed (or worse if they couldn’t strike a deal), Billy is left for dead along side his girlfriend and the prosecuting attorney for the last case, Amy, and his long term partner Kate.  The problem?  Everyone thinks he killed Amy and had some fort of shoot out with Kate; and he doesn’t know if they are right.  A two week stretch that includes that fateful night are a complete blank.    How can he pull himself out of this, and who can he trust to help him?

My thoughts:

While parts of the story seemed a bit rushed, (dare I say sloppy?)  I still loved this book.  The premise was interesting and I loved the characters.  There were some issues with the flow of the book, moving from one time to another, one POV to another… well, it wasn’t always as seamless as it could have been.

I think I am being harder on this book than others, maybe, because of the hype that Patterson/ promoters tried to place on this book- calling it his best work in twenty years.  It was good…. but I expect better from my beloved favorite author and thus am always hardest on his work.  Now there were interesting twists, and it kept me guessing, my interest piqued.  Even the characters I hated… I kind of loved them too.  There was a lot of intrigue here, and some great character dynamics.  I loved the book and it is still a five star for me.  Five Stars

On the adult content scale, I give it a solid seven.  There is sexual content (some of which is rather explicit), violence, and language.  This is not meant for a younger audience.  adult content rubber stamp

The book is out now.  Have you read it?

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

One thought on “The Black Book, James Patterson and David Ellis

Leave a Reply

