Posted in bookish rambles, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday- Ten Most Unique Books I Have Read.

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  I am a bit sporadic in my participation, only doing one when particularly moved, but I could not pass this one up.  There are so many beautiful, unique books out there!  Here are some of my favorites in no particular order:

  1. The Eagle Tree, by Ned Hayes.  I loved this one mostly because of the first person POV- Hayes chose to write this from the perspective of an autistic boy.  It clearly shows how his mind works, his feelings, fears and frustrations.  And it shows that with strength and a good support team, anything is possible.  I adored this book.
  2. Howl’s Moving Castle, Diana Wynne Jones.  I am a huge fan of Studio Ghibli, and love this movie.  I hadn’t known it was a book the first time I saw it, but went out to hunt it down.  There are a lot of differences between the two forms!  What I loved here was the unique world building and characters.
  3. The Borrowers, Mary Norton.  A beloved children’s chapter book (still short at 50 pages each there about) about a family of little people living under the floorboards of a home.  The world building here was beautifully done and the premise was fantastic.
  4. I am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced, Nujood Ali.  A hard hitting one, but so unique and important.  This child was forced into wedlock well before the age for it to be normal even in her country.  It rocked me, sent my emotions careening… but it is such a uniquely powerful book that it belongs on the list.
  5. Invisible Ellen, Shari Shattuck.  This book intrigued me because of the characters.  Ellen is obese, and doesn’t want anyone to see her.  She works hard to make herself “invisible”, unnoticed by others.  When she decides to go past her comfort zone and stop a mugging she meets her first real friend.  Temerity only sees Ellen as she is inside, and helps Ellen to see herself that way too.  Helping with nutrition and understanding her own worth, Ellen begins to make real progress.  I love that- so often you read about the “chubby” girl that falls for the guy and gets gorgeous for him… this was a unique perspective though.  Everything here she did for herself because her friends helped her to see that she deserved it.  #squad goals.
  6. The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend, Katarina Bivald.  A bibliophile comes from far away to meet her pen pal only to find her gone and a town that doesn’t know what to do with her in their place.  Taking her friend’s old books, left to her, she opens a bookshop and makes a place for herself in town.  I loved this one for the unique and colorful characters found within.
  7. Kids of Appetite, David Arnold.  Another great book with a quirky, unique cast of characters I can’t forget.  The premise, too, is one I have rarely seen- a bunch of kids banding together to make a family, to take care of one another.
  8. Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs.  The premise and world building here was something I had never seen before, and I loved it.  The characters were well developed and so very special.
  9. Beast, Bri Spangler.  A unique retelling of Beauty and the Beast, dealing both with how we see ourselves and introducing a transgender individual in a strong, healthy light.
  10. Maximum Ride, James Patterson.  Genetically morphed young children- “angels” breaking out on their own, learning to care for each other and their world.  Definitely a unique premise and view point.
  11. Sundays at Tiffany’s, James Patterson.  I know I have too many, but this HAS to be here.  This has long been one of my favorite romances.  A lonely little girl has one friend, Michael, who being imaginary can’t stay forever and must leave her.  Later in life, Jane finds a new love interest that seems…. shockingly familiar.  I loved the twist to this one, the sweetness.  It was just really… unique.

Well, that’s my list!  Have you read any?  What’s on your list?  I’d love to know!

Oh, I found some more goodies looking through my pics- please excuse me if I just post them here.  As you can see there are far too many unique books to name.

Amber

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Ten Most Unique Books I Have Read.

Leave a Reply

