Posted in bookish rambles, weekly wrap-up

Weekly Wrap-up! April 11th-16th

Personal Life:

I don’t like to talk about my health here, because it’s pretty good.  I don’t have major issues that aren’t easily handled, which makes me feel bad for complaining.  But I am going to anyway, and this is going to be TMI, so if you are uncomfortable scroll to the next paragraph please.  For several years I have been getting violently ill once a month, right before my period.  Fun version of PMS right?  This wrecks havoc with my work attendance because if I can’t stop throwing up for more than 20 minutes at a time, I am really no good to them as a cashier.  Plus, it’s embarrassing… try explaining that you are neither contagious nor pregnant to the customer in the next stall.  Add to that, I am on antidepressants for, well, depression and I am constantly tired.  Constantly.  I had a gym membership that I could not work up the energy to use-ever.  It was embarrassing.  I felt fat and old, lazy and worthless.  I am only 34, so it’s too early for all this!

I talked to the doctor and he is helping me take control.  For the first issue, I am on a birth control that allows me one period every three months.  We hope that will lessen the issues there.  As far as energy goes, I am on a med short term for energy that has a side effect of appetite control (or vise versa depending on what you are looking for).  This is only temporary to jump start a gym routine, and help me feel better and more confident so that I am able to make healthy changes to my lifestyle.  I am slowly cutting back on sugars and trying to let go of carbs (that will be hardest).  More fruit and veg.  I allow myself one soda or energy drink a day- usually sugar free (I am cheating today with a Ginger Pepsi- they had it cold and it’s my favorite!).  I am trying to drink a gallon of water every day- which is a big change as I have never actually went for water as a choice beverage.  Portion control is going to be a big help.  I refuse to “diet” or restrict myself from anything if I don’t have to- just eat less.  Allow myself to create healthier choices.  I am also using that gym member ship.  Since Monday I have gone five times.  I don’t do much yet- 2 mile cycle one day, some of the machines that I am comfortable with the next.  But it’s more than I was doing and that feels so good.  I hope you will allow me to talk about this journey from time to time.

Bookish Life:

I finished The Red Hunter, which I absolutely adored.  The story was fantastic and I loved the characters with their flaws, insecurities, and strength.

After that I got de-railed from my TBR list again (I may not finish it this time…).  I got The Little Prince by Antionne de Saint-Exupery, something I ought to have read years ago but never did.  I picked it up at the library on Saturday.  I loved it so much I bought a hardback copy from Amazon that ought to be coming in today.  I will write a review later.  I am thinking of starting to do a new post just for books I ought to have read years ago- not just kids books but books that have been out for a while that I either didn’t know about or did not make time for.  What do you think?

X-men is having new arcs and I had to see what was going on there (be advised that I have only read a handful of these comics in twenty years, so there’s a lot I missed, like the x-men vs. inhumans story line).  I still found them entertaining, and fairly easy to follow with some favorite characters.  All of this made me very happy.  I will probably try to keep up with both, but so far Blue is my favorite (the arcs are either Gold, with Jean Grey or Blue, with Kitty Pride).  I doubt I will be reviewing these because I don’t see how I could without spoiling the whole of the comics.

Finally I have read Beauty and the Beast by Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont.  I loved this one, it was most likely one of my favorite of the classic fairy tales I have read.  I will be reviewing this later (lunch and chores first).

So, that was me this week.  What have you been up to?

Amber

Leave a Reply

