Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

The Light We Lost, Jill Stantopolo

the light we lostspolier alertTitle: The Light We Lost

Author: Jill Stantopolo

Pages: 336

Genre: romance

Is this part of a series?  No.

Publish date: May 9th, 2017

I was lucky enough to receive an eARC of this book from First to Read in exchange for an honest review.  My sincerest thanks.

Summary:

Lucy narrates to Gabe, an old love.  In this she begins with the start of their story, their meeting on 9-11.  Their relationship is crazy and inspired- they push each other toward their dreams.  When Gabe finally has to leave to follow his, Lucy has to pick herself up.  Leaving nothing out, she talks about her time without him.  The pain, separating herself from the things that were “them”, and meeting a man that made her laugh… Darren.  She explains her love for both men, neither relationship perfect yet part of her.  Lucy talks of her life, her dream, her children.

Every so often there’s a moment where the two- Gabe and Lucy- reconnect.  The last time starts another path in motion.  This book is all about chances taken, roads not gone down, and living with the consequences of both.

My thoughts:

There are books that break your heart.  Books where the characters are so real, so imperfect, that you bleed for them.  For me, this was one of them.  While a little odd at times, I loved the layout of this story- just Lucy talking to Gabe.  While I often disagreed with Lucy’s choices, and at times wanted to shake her, it did not lessen my love for her.  I loved Gabe, selfish and self centered dreamer that he could be.  I loved Darren who wanted so badly to be the one for Lucy, and loved her so dearly.  I loved the children, and the friends.  Each character was special and unique.  I think I just loved this story over all.

If there was one complaint, it would be that I am desperate to see into both Gabe and Darren’s minds.  I understand that this wasn’t possible with the layout of the book, but I almost- almost- feel cheated out of their emotions.  Still, this is a definite five star book for me.  Five Stars

As far as the adult content goes, there is a lot of sexual content.  There is also language and drinking to a lesser degree.  I would still let a mature teen read this, but… yeah… while not extremely graphic, there is a lot of sexual content.  A seven.Parental Guidance

The book comes out 5-09-17.  Be ready!

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

Leave a Reply

