Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

Woman No. 17, Edan Lepucki

Woman No. 17spolier alertTitle: Woman No. 17

Author: Edan Lepucki

Pages: 320

Genre:  Contemporary, mystery

Is this part of a series?  No.

Publish date: May 9th, 2017

I was given an eARC of this book from Netgalley and Crown Publishing.  My thanks!

Summary:

Lady Daniels has separated from her husband and is trying to juggle writing a memoir of sorts with caring for her toddler son Devin, and attempting to keep her eighteen year old son Seth close.  She needs help.

In comes S. a young artist that Lady and her children are drawn to.  Hired as a nanny for Devin, S. has her own agenda for being there.  Working on a new, out-there art project, she is trying to recreate mothers- including her own.  When the two worlds collide, sparks fly.  This is an intense story of art, motherhood, and female friendships among other things.

My thoughts:

I felt for Lady, not sure what she wants or what she is doing.  I loved her character even as I hated her for choices she made.  I felt the same way for S.  Both are damaged, trying to find their spots, trying to make a connection.  I loved Karl (with a “K” as Lady says) and his crazy love of Lady and his family including his stepson Seth.  The story was interesting, and fast paced, if a bit jumpy in areas.  I still loved it completely.  Five Stars!Five Stars

On the adult content scale, I give it an eight.  There is talk of alcoholism, language, sexual content and drinking.  This is definitely not one my niece will get her hands on.  mature audience.

The book comes out next Tuesday (5-9-17)!  Who’s excited?!?

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

One thought on “Woman No. 17, Edan Lepucki

Leave a Reply

