Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

Wonder Woman, Volume 2: Year One

wonder woman rebirth 2spolier alertTitle: Wonder Woman, Volume 2: Year One

Author: Greg Rucka, artist Nicola Scott

Pages: 168

Genre: graphic novel, action

Is this part of a series?  Yes, book two of the Wonder Woman Rebirth.

Publish Date: May 9th, 2017

Summary:

A plane goes down in Themyscira and out of the team of soldiers, only Steve Trevor is left alive.  As the Amazons heal his wounds it becomes apparent that not only has their island been breached, but they must send out one of their own to protect the world.  Diana, Princess of the Amazons, wins that right.  With the lasso, a gift given the islanders by the Gods, she sets out to take Steve and his fallen team home.  There is only one catch- once you leave, you can never return to the island.  Diana must learn her new home and help protect it’s people while a great threat looms…. she is not without her own allies though.

My thoughts:

I received an eARC of this graphic novel from Netgalley and DC Entertainments.  I feel like I need to review in two parts.  First I am going to talk about this book as a stand alone and not part of the series.  As someone fairly new to the Wonder Woman comics, this was easy to get into.  This is the origin story for Wonder Woman, and while a bit choppy in parts, I found it extremely well done.  The story drew you in, and the characters were interesting and unique.  I liked the art work in this book as well.  I had hoped to read her origin story at some point, so I was pleased with this book.

On the other hand, it seemed to have nothing to do with Wonder Woman, Rebirth #1, Greg Lucas except that the characters are the same.  In fact, I feel like this one ought to have been first, and then move to the other story eventually.  Because of this, I could not like it as part of the series- due to placement.  Now, it is possible that the third book will explain why it was done this way… but it is doubtful.  Due to this alone, I have to drop a star from my review.  This is a four star book for me.  Four Stars

On the adult content scale, there is violence.  I would say that this book is geared toward teens and adults, but could be for a younger audience as well.  General.svg

The book comes out tomorrow and I absolutely recommend it!

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

Leave a Reply

