Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

The Simplicity of Cider, Amy E. Reichert

the simplicity of ciderspolier alertTitle: The Simplicity of Cider

Author: Amy E. Reichert

Pages:  336

Genre: contemporary romance

Is this part of a series?  No.

Publish Date:  May 16th, 2017

Summary:

Sanna Lund is committed to her simple life on her family orchard.  Though the business end is failing, she knows she has the key to getting it back up.  Her cider will be a hit.  She just has to keep things going for a while longer.

Single father Issac Banks is trying his best to give his son Bass one more summer before he has to face a hard truth.  The secret eats at him, but he just isn’t ready.  Coming to Door County seems ideal- fresh air, open space for Bass to play, and best of all work to keep them busy.  The Lund’s farm needs help, and he needs a place to stay.  Win-win right?

As time marches forward and Issac and Sanna begin to trust and care for one another, it becomes apparent that someone is trying to sabotage the orchard.  Can everyone band together and save the orchard.  And what happens after vacation when real life in California calls for Issac and Bass?

My Thoughts:

I was lucky enough to receive an eARC of this book from Netgally and Gallery books.  My thanks.

I loved this book.  It was well paced, charming and funny in parts.  I think what I loved best was the play between characters, though.  The relationship between Issac and Bass of warmth and easy comradery really touched my heart.  I also loved how Sanna and her father interacted.  Sanna was a tough character at times, very guarded and unsure of her place with others.  I enjoyed watching her warm to Bass especially.  The book really  showcased different facets of certain characters too.  I liked that.  I didn’t feel like any of these were just “throw away” characters, which is always nice to see.

I liked the little bit of magical realism here as well.  The trees doing better with love at the orchard was a charming touch.  Plus there wasn’t so much that it muddied the rest of the story, as I have found in the past.  All in all the book was charming, refreshing, and had the ability to transport me from town into a charming orchard.  I give it five stars.  Five Stars

As far as the adult content goes, there is some sexual content, and language but neither are so graphic that I would say this was an adults only book if a teen were interested.  I give it a three.  Oh, there is talk about drug addiction, but it is done well.  General.svg

The book comes out 5-16-17,  I absolutely recommend it.  In fact I may be buying a copy for myself and my mother.

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

 

2 thoughts on “The Simplicity of Cider, Amy E. Reichert

Leave a Reply

