Posted in Book Reviews, Up and Coming Releases

My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen, David Clawson

my fairy godmother is a drag queenspolier alertTitle: My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen

Author: David Clawson

Pages: 336

Genre: YA, romance

Is this part of a series? No.

Publish Date: May 16th, 2017

Summary:

Chris Bellows is just wanting to get through high school unscathed and keep going.  His stepfamily, the Fontains, have had a reversal of fortunes but still have aspirations.   As the mother throws her daughter Kimberly at every eligible bachelor it is up to Chris to do the shopping, cooking and cleaning- because he’s the only one that has ever done it before and knows how.

One night, meeting Drag Queen Coco Channel Jones changed Chris’s life forever.  Not only does he know someone that he can be open with about being gay, but Coco sends Chris off to the ball of the season where he meets J.J.  Kennerly- the most sought after bachelor around.  A shoe catastrophe puts the two together and they have a moment.

The next morning, though, it seems that J.J. is dating his step sister Kimberly.  He has feelings for Chris, but with political ambitions, he is afraid of being out.  They decide to keep it a secret, and use Kimberly as a beard.  Madness, and hilarity follow the couple… but can this ever be enough?  And, as Chris keeps asking himself, is it fair to his step sister?  True love is seriously complicated!

My thoughts:

I received an eARC of this book from Netgalley and Skyhorse publishing.  My thanks!

I loved this book.  I found Chris, with his rollercoaster of emotions, honest and refreshing.  It was nice to see that he wasn’t a victim.  He never saw himself as the family’s slave or anything like that.  He tried to come to terms with his lot, and even found good in his family.    While Coco very nearly became cliché at times, she never got there completely.  I loved her interaction with each of the characters, and the fact that we got to see multiple facets there.  I like that they portrayed Kimberly as spoiled, yes, but also sweet at times and willing to include and accept Chris.  The brother actually took me by surprise because he was portrayed at this meathead with moments of brilliance.  He was the most openly accepting of the group, though, even if he was a jerk at times.

While this is a very loose retelling of Cinderella, I liked it better for that fact.  I loved the story line and felt that the writing style was really fluid.  I had a great time getting to know the multifaceted characters.  One thing I did not like was the fact that J.J. was fine using Kimberly as a beard- even when Chris was feeling guilty.  He made a lot of choices that were hard for me to accept… and yet seemed sadly realistic.  That aside, this is a five star book for me still.  Five Stars

As far as the adult content goes, there is some sexual content, language and lewd humor but nothing over the top.  My niece will probably be reading it.  I give it a four.  General.svg

The book comes out tomorrow (5-16-17) but the ebook seems to drop on the 30th.  I highly recommend getting it.

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

Leave a Reply

