Posted in Uncategorized

We Are Never Meeting In Real Life, Samantha Irby

We are never meeting in real lifespolier alertTitle: We Are Never Meeting In Real Life

Author: Samantha Irby

Pages: 228

Genre: nonfiction, essays, humor

Is this part of a series?  No

Publishing date:  May 30th 2017

Samantha Irby is the blogger from Bitches gotta eat.  Here we are presented with a series of essays about her life- childhood, maintaining a job, relationships, and having a super hateful pet to name a few.  Sam goes over why she should be the next Bachelorette, the perils of eating old McDonalds, and how love should feel like someone is stomping on your chest.

I received an eARC of this book from Netgalley and Vintage Entertainment for the price of an honest review.  It took me a couple days to process how I feel about this book.  Some parts were fantastic- I loved the opening essay about the Bachelorette (perfect opener by the way).  I also loved her sassiness and honesty.  What actually brought me to this book though, was the cover.  I like to imagine that’s her hateful cat Helen Keller (you read a lot about her in this book).  I’m not going to lie, I cracked up at her hate/hate relationship with the thing.

But there were things I didn’t like as well.  The profanity is strong in this one…. for real.  Also, I know I say lol here sometimes but this is a blog.  This is not a book set for publication and unless it’s a YA novel where the characters are texting I don’t feel that internet cant has any place in a book.  Then there are the uncomfortable parts.  There is such a thing as oversharing and I don’t need to know about your sex toy or the time you had to poop in a McDonalds bag on the side of the road.  Seriously.  Way too much information.  Maybe I am just too old for this book.

That said, I have decided that the good outweighs the bad-barely.  This is a three star book for me.  Three Stars

On the adult content scale, I would have to rate it pretty high for the language and sexual content alone.  We’re giving it an eight.  adult content rubber stamp

The book comes out 5-30-2017.  I would love to hear everyone else’s thoughts.

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

 

Leave a Reply

