Posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized

The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo book #2), Rick Riordan

trials of apollo 2spolier alertTitle: The Dark Prophecy

Author: Rick Riordan

Pages: 414

Genre: adventure, YA, fantasy

Is this part of a series?  Yes, this is Apollo’s second book, and has close ties to several previous story lines.

Published: May 2nd, 2017

When our dragon declared war on Indiana, I knew it was going to be a bad day.

Apollo is still human thanks to his father.  Leo Valdez and Calypso have been traveling with him, along with Leo’s mechanical dragon Festus.  They land, looking for Apollo’s friend/ master Meg.

Instead they find a city over run with monsters, a emperor calling himself New Hercules.  They find a small resistance in the waystation in the form of Emmie and Joe.  They have their own reasons for helping Apollo… but he’ll take what he can get.  Apparently New Hercules has been abducting people and holding them captive until they fight each other and animals that he’s found (like ostriches that he kitted out for battle).  Apollo needs to find Meg, put down this emperor, rescue everyone and restore the oracle that has gone silent (his mission to regain God status- restore all the oracles).  Sadly, he’s pretty inept…. so this should prove interesting!

Now, I was on the fence about this series.  Hidden Oracle did not wow me.  I found Apollo annoying and the storyline lagging in a lot of places.  I was still deciding if I would read this one or not (pro- many of the characters I loved from Lightning Thief and Heroes of Olympus; con- Apollo).  I grabbed a book from Walmart and opened it, just to get a look.  The first line alone sold me.  I figured, if nothing else this was going to be funny.

I actually ended up liking this one a lot.  Apollo made strides toward becoming a likeable character.  There were still complaints and “I am so great” moments, but he seemed to grow a lot of compassion and caring.   We saw more of that part of him.  Leo, Calypso and Meg also had a lot of growth in this book.  The story line was interesting and fun, and it didn’t lag.  I still prefer the Magnus Chase series (or really any of the other ones), but I feel like this one is finding it’s pace and turning out to be a great series.  I give this one four stars!  Four Stars

On the adult content scale, there is violence and mild language.  It is geared toward very young teens and so I would say that none of it is too over the top.  I give it a three.  General.svg

The book is out now- have you read it?

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

Leave a Reply

