Posted in weekly wrap-up

Weekly Wrap-up! June 5th -12th

Personal life:

This whole “healthy living” thing is really killing my reading time!  Lol, I still can’t actually see changes in my body, but others say they can.  Maybe I am just too critical (aren’t we all?).  My weight was fluctuating a bit, but I am back on track.  I have lost 25 pounds since starting.  The things that have helped me most are:

  1. My family and buds– I have a great support team that are even willing to “plank” so that I can actually see the form.
  2. walking in parks and trails– I love it in the morning or evening when the birds are out in droves.  The sound of nature soothes me, allows me to mentally recharge while exercising.
  3. My gym– I haven’t gone as I ought to because it just isn’t as much fun for me, but strength training is important…plus I kind of like the stationary bike.  It has massage chairs as well as discount rates if you go regularly.  With these types of incentives, it is easier to drag myself there in the mornings.
  4. Apps– holy crap there’s an app for everything!  My fitness allows me to track my nutrition and exercise easily and links with Google health which does the same.  These are both free which is fantastic, because I am cheap.  I think what I like best here is the fact that it listens to my health goals and current situation and gives me daily calories and nutrient amounts that will best get me where I want to be. There are paid versions, but I am getting everything I want in the app already.  Then there’s Stop, Breathe & Think.  Back in my teen years I was big into meditation and spiritual health, but that fell off, I don’t know why.  Through these guided meditations I can give myself a few moments a day to remind myself to breathe and enjoy.  There is one to help me prepare for sleep which I actually quite like, and one that reminds us of all the things we are grateful for.  I just sit, relax and let these feelings pass through me.  At the end I always feel refreshed and grounded.  We never really consider our mental and emotional health when talking about health, do we?

Oh, and I have new pics from a few parks in town and Main Street’s Spiva  statue.

Bookish Life:

I am sadly behind on my ARC’s which makes me sad.  I was reading The Party, which is really good, but then one of my library holds came in.  I am now reading The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert before returning to my ARC’s.  I have decided I am not doing a wrap-up/ TBR this month, as I just don’t know what I am doing.  I am loving these books though!

I just realized I hadn’t written a review for The Little French Bistro yet!  I loved that book!!!  I will have to think for a bit, and will probably do this tomorrow.

the little french bistro

So that’s me for the week, what’s up with you?

Amber

 

Leave a Reply

