Posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized

The Confusion of Languages, Siobhan Fallon

the confusion of LanguagesTitle: The Confusion of Languages

Author: Siobhan Fallon

Pages: 336

Genre: contemporary fiction

Is this part of a series? No

Published?  June 27th, 2017

I received an eARC of this book from First to Read.  My Thanks.

Two very different women follow their soldier husbands to Jordan.  After two years, Cassie knows how to follow the rules, what’s expected.  Margaret sees a chance to explore… and nothing else.  When a fender bender sends Margaret to the police station, Cassie is left with her son in their apartment.  As the hours go by, Cassie is getting more and more nervous.  Finding Margaret’s journal,  Cassie discovers a world she never knew.

I loved this book.  I enjoyed Cassie’s narrative, even if it was jaded at times by her troubles in her marriage.  I thought that allowing Margaret a voice in the form of her journal was ingenious and added a lot to the story.  The misunderstandings between husband and wives, and between the two friends, was painful to watch at times.  It reminds me that our own feelings very much color every interaction we have.    The story stalled in parts a bit, for me, and that made the writing a bit more choppy than I like.  Over all I would give this book a three.  Three Stars

On the adult content scale, I give it a five.  There is a lot of language, and sexual content.  I don’t think my niece would be interested in it… but I wouldn’t feel comfortable letting her read it.  mature audience.

The book is out!  Have you read it?

Link to book:

Amazon

Amber

 

Leave a Reply

